2018 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Winners Revealed

15th June 2018

Logistics Business2018 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Winners Revealed

The 2018 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Award winners have been revealed.

Launched 11 years ago, the awards programme celebrates the exceptional women transforming transport and logistics in the UK, while showcasing the range of fulfilling and exciting career opportunities it has to offer. This year, a brand-new award was introduced to celebrate a man championing the progress of women in transport and logistics – the Male Agent of Change Award.

This year’s winners were selected by the industry’s most discerning leaders for the significant impact they are making to companies, including Heathrow Airport, Royal Mail, Merseytravel and Transport for London. From the leaders passionately advocating for gender diversity in the workplace, to the entrepreneur who turned her employer’s failing business into her own successful haulage company, they are the epitome of industry excellence from all walks of life. Working in a variety of transport and logistics sectors – from warehousing and cargo, to retail and engineering – these women are changing the perception of the industry as a whole.

A special Woman of the Year Award was presented to Anna Delvecchio, Commercial Account Director at Amey RDG, who started her career journey as an engineering apprentice at just 15 years old. Having broken through the glass ceiling by the age of 30, she became the Commercial Director for Amey RDG – a supplier of consulting and infrastructure support for clients including Transport for London. During an impressive 20-year-long career, she has excelled in a number of senior commercial and supply chain roles, including negotiating major upgrade contracts for Network Rail.

Anna was singled out by the judges for her continuous support for women in transport and logistics. This includes the “Women in Rail South” group she established to provide women with a local network to support their professional and personal growth through various events and workshops. She is also dedicated to engaging and attracting the next generation of talent she believes will reshape the industry through visits to local schools and her work with organisations such as Young Rail Professionals and the National Skills Academy for Rail.

The category winners for the 2018 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards are:

The Freight Award – Awarded to a woman who demonstrates how they are innovating and excelling their role in the freight sector.
• Above & Beyond – Kate Turner, Head of Planning, DB Cargo UK, from Goole
• Leader – Keely Priestman, Managing Director, Diamond Distribution Ltd, from London

The Passenger Award – Awarded to a woman who demonstrates how they are improving the customer experience.
• Above & Beyond – Nikki Sohal, Heathrow Express Control Room Competence Manager, Heathrow Express, from London
• Leader – Liz Chandler, Director of Corporate Development, Merseytravel, from Liverpool City Region

The Infrastructure Award – sponsored by Amazon – Awarded to a woman who demonstrates how they are improving road or rail infrastructure.
• Above & Beyond – Deborah Pye, Director Strategic Innovation, Walmart, from Leeds
• Leader – Kayleigh Wilson, Transition Manager, DHL Supply Chain, from London

The Supply Chain Award – sponsored by DHL – Awarded to a woman who demonstrates how they are improving processes within supply chain.
• Above & Beyond – June Jones, Senior Manager Operating Model, Asda, from Leeds
• Leader – Faye Calland, National Same Day Manager – Storage, Fashion & Solutions, TNT, from Coventry

The Warehousing Award – Awarded to a woman who is innovating and improving warehouse operations.
• Above & Beyond – Clare Maclauchlan, National Development Manager, Co-op, from Newcastle upon Tyne
• Leader – Sharon Hammond, Senior Director – Food North ALS, Asda, from Leeds

Industry Champion Award – sponsored by Asda – Awarded to an individual who demonstrates the impact that they have had on attracting and retaining women in the industry.
• Harriet Glen, Principal Transport Planner, TfL, from London

Male Agent of Change Award (new for 2018) – Awarded to a man for his active commitment to advancing the progress of women working in Transport and Logistics
• Wayne Jay, National Distribution Director, Royal Mail, from Kidderminster

Maxine Benson MBE, co-founder of everywoman, comments, “This year’s winners represent those making a real difference to transport and logistics – whether it’s through the remarkable transformations they’ve made to the companies they work for, or the innovative businesses they have built from the ground-up. Not only are they making their own contributions to the industry, but they are mentoring others to do the same. As everywoman ambassadors, they will go on to inspire the next generation.”

Congratulations from Logistics Business to all winners and nominees.